THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

The Mile Roses

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
The Mile Roses
The Mile Roses


The new album features 14 original tracks; 8 co-writes from Edwina, Kate and Simon, 4 songs written by Simon, a song written by Edwina with Nashville Country Music star Elizabeth Cook and a song written by Kate with North East songwriter Jez Lowe. The Mile Roses describe their music as 'Contemporary original British folk with a nod to Nashville... great upbeat music mixing British folk with the smoother sounds of singer-songwriter Americana.' Born out of a musical interest in both British folk and the transatlantic connections to new country and Americana, this trio are now fast gaining a reputation across the UK folk scene. Their original songs and close three part harmonies are accompanied by guitars, fretless bass, cittern, mandolin and fiddle. The new songs on the album cover a wide variety of styles and subject matter from the opening track 'Come Sailing' that hints at the traditional gypsy davy story to the jazzier 'Too Much Love'. There is the mariachi-inspired 'Late Night Lonely' that nods towards early Roy Orbison and the high energy of 'Rockabilly Girls'. 'The Whisky Song' and 'Fare The Well' are more rooted in the folk tradition. 'Another Year' ponders that moment that you see an old flame and can't find the right words whilst the title track 'The Mile Roses' looks back through the history of folk stories. 'Dixie Moon', co-written by Edwina with Nashville star Elizabeth Cook, is pure bluegrass Americana whilst Kate's co-write with NE folksinger Jez Lowe, 'Kingsmen', harks back to the travelling days of Shakespearean actors and players. Simon's four new songs cover topics from longing following tragedy at sea ('Neptune') to his grandfather's wartime stories ('Ship To Shore'), and from the search for the Aurora ('The Northern Lights') to the night time journey home after a gig ('Taking The Long Road Home'). The album was recorded in the first half of 2017 by Alastair Artingstall (Keane / Divine Comedy / Jason Isbell) at Initial Laughter Productions and was mastered by David de la Haye (Monster Ceilidh Band / Jez Lowe & The Bad Pennies). It also features Alastair on piano, organ and percussion along with Uillean piper and whistles virtuoso Becky Taylor.


  1. Name
  2. Come Sailing
  3. Dixie Moon
  4. Kingsmen
  5. Neptune
  6. Too Much Love
  7. The Whisky Song
  8. Rockabilly Girls
  9. The Northern Lights
  10. Late Night Lonely
  11. The Mile Roses
  12. Another Year
  13. Ship To Shore
  14. Fare Thee Well
  15. Taking The Long Road Home
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

Search engine powered by ElasticSuite