Please Note: Due to a Royal Mail Service Outage affecting all International/EU/USA packages, orders shipping outside the UK are currently heavily delayed.

THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

The Sorrow Songs : Folk Songs Of Black British Experience (LP)

Long Play Vinyl
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)
Catalog Number:
The Sorrow Songs : Folk Songs Of Black British Experience (LP)
The Sorrow Songs : Folk Songs Of Black British Experience (LP)


Please note: the vinyl edition of The Sorrow Songs will be released on 10th March 20th January 2023, with the CD edition available now here.

'The Sorrow Songs: Folk Songs of Black British Experience' is the upcoming album by Cornwall-based folk singer, songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Angeline Morrison, her first record for the historic Topic Records label.

Produced by Eliza Carthy and featuring some of her beautiful, soaring string arrangements, The Sorrow Songs was recorded in Cornwall at Cube Studio and is a work of what she calls 're-storying.'

"The traditional songs of the UK are rich with storytelling, and you can find songs with examples of almost any kind of situation or person you can think of. But whilst people of the African diaspora have been present in these islands since at least Roman Times, their histories are little known - and they don't tend to appear in the folk songs of these islands."

Angeline Morrison began to wonder if she could discover more about the lives of these ordinary and extraordinary Black ancestors and create an album of songs in the sonic style of UK folk and traditional music, in the hope that this silent space could then begin to be filled with stories. With the help of Arts Council National Lottery funding, Angeline began what became a year of research into this neglected area of Black British history. The Sorrow Songs: Folk Songs of Black British Experience is the result.



Released to commemorate Black History Month in October, this powerful record is intended to honour these Black ancestors who lived in these islands and to act as a gift to the folk community.

The musicians on the album are: Cohen Braithwaite-Kilcoyne (anglo concertina, melodeon, vocals), Clarke Camilleri (guitar, banjo, vocals), Hamilton Gross (violin, vocals), Rosie Crow (piano, vocals), Alex Neilson (drums, vocals), Eliza Carthy (violin, fiddlesticks, vocals), Martin Carthy (guitar) and Angeline Morrison (vocals, autoharp, double bass).

In July 2022, Angeline Morrison became the fourth recipient of the prestigious Christian Raphael Prize, which generously supports the development of emerging talent in the folk genre.

The vinyl version of this album comes with two special, limited edition A6 postcards featuring variations on the album artwork.


  1. Name
  2. Interlude - Some Terrible Habits
  3. Unknown African Boy (D.1830)
  4. Black John
  5. Interlude - These Little Ones
  6. The Beautiful Spotted Black Boy
  7. Mad-Haired Moll O'bedlam
  8. Interlude - Nobody Round Here Likes It
  9. The Hand Of Fanny Johnson
  10. Cinnamon Water
  11. Hide Yourself
  12. Cruel Mother Country
  13. Interlude - In The Village
  14. The Flames They Do Grow High
  15. Interlude - Need Not Apply
  16. Go Home
  17. Slave No More
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

Search engine powered by ElasticSuite