THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

The Jack Davies Big Band

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
The Jack Davies Big Band
The Jack Davies Big Band


This highly atmospheric big band album of new compositions by Jack Davies has a strong narrative line and was produced by Colin Towns. Featured soloists include saxophonists Josh Arcoleo and Martin Speake and trumpeters Nick Smart and Percy Pursglove.

Bringing together several generations of British jazz musicians and influenced by the tradition of great innovative British big bands, The Jack Davies Big Band draws on the raucous power of Colin Towns' Mask Orchestra, the lyrical melancholy of Kenny Wheeler and the boundary-pushing work of Loose Tubes.

This is big band music which retains the energy and individualism of Duke Ellington, but is infused with the powerful and uncompromising aesthetic of contemporary jazz.

"Jack Davies is producing a very strong and inventive body of work, and he's only just begun." - Colin Towns

Personnel: Andy Greenwood, Tom Walsh, Percy Pursglove, Nick Smart, Reuben Fowler (trumpets), Kieran McLeod, Richard Foote, Patrick Hayes, Ed Hilton (trombones), Josh Arcoleo, Martin Speake, Mike Chillingworth, Joe Wright, Rob Cope (saxophones), Alex Munk (guitar), Tom Taylor (piano), James Opstad (bass), Jon Ormston (drums), Joe Wright (electronics)


  1. Name
  2. Entropy
  3. (I Had) A Bad Dream
  4. Some New Infection
  5. I Will Wait For You To Get Up / You Will Wait for a Long Time
  6. Circle
  7. 1984 Suite - I. Telescreen
  8. 1984 Suite - II. If There is Hope
  9. 1984 Suite - III. Dance of the Proles
  10. 1984 Suite - IV. Thrush Song
  11. 1984 Suite - V. Mr Charrington's Shop
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite