THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

The Fall Of Hearts

Long Play Vinyl
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Gate Fold Vinyl
Catalog Number:
The Fall Of Hearts
The Fall Of Hearts


PEACEVILLE RELEASE NEW STUDIO ALBUM FROM SWEDEN'S KATATONIA - 'THE FALL OF HEARTS' AS A HEAVYWEIGHT DOUBLE LP WITH BONUS TRACK Katatonia, the Swedish purveyors of dark progressive rock/metal, have announced that their eagerly awaited 10th studio album, 'The Fall of Hearts' will be released on 20th May through their long-time home of Peaceville Records. The official follow-up to 2012's acclaimed 'Dead End Kings' was recorded at Stockholm's Studio Gröndahl & Tri-lamb Studio, and was self-produced by Anders Nyström & Jonas Renkse. Mixing and mastering duties were carried out by Jens Bogren (Opeth, Ishahn, Devin Townsend) at Fascination Street Studios, with Karl Daniel Lidén (Switchblade, The Ocean, Greenleaf) brought in as engineer. Katatonia have spent the past four years since the release of 'Dead End Kings' touring the world, as well as expanding their fanbase through two special albums on Kscope, the sister label of Peaceville. 2013 saw the release of 'Dethroned and Uncrowned' which exploded the core of the songs on 'Dead End Kings' creating new moods and textures. In 2015, they released the live acoustic album and concert film 'Sanctitude'. Both releases illustrate the band's journey toward this, their current more progressive sound. 'The Fall of Hearts' is the first record to feature new drummer Daniel 'Mojjo' Moilanen and with the addition of their recently recruited guitarist Roger Öjersson (Tiamat), who came in just in time to sprinkle some blistering solos on the album, Katatonia will continue to push their musical boundaries beyond their roots in the metal scene while drawing in new fans from across the musical spectrum and put them on par with peers such as Opeth and Anathema, cementing Katatonia's place as one of the most revered and cherished of all bands in the world of modern heavy music. The dramatic yet desolate artwork was created by long time designer and illustrator Travis Smith. Katatonia will be appearing at a number of European festivals across the summer including Hellfest and Tuska Open Air followed by a headline Autumn set to be announced soon. Peaceville will be releasing 'The Fall Of Hearts' as a 2LP 180gm gatefold vinyl edition featuring bonus track 'Sistere' and MP3 download code. Praise for Dead End Kings: 'Diehard fans will recognise Dead End Kings as the latest in a series of beautifully conceived and subtly inventive exercises in atmospheric heaviness. But there is a sharpness to the songwriting in evidence on the Swedes' ninth full-length recording that promises a bridging of the gap between metal and modern prog.' 4/5 - The Guardian "This is further proof that Katatonia have the cojones and the class to plunge ever deeper into the heart of musical melancholy, dragging those of us who appreciate the restorative value of joy and sorrow along with them." 9/10 Metal Hammer


  1. Name
  2. Takeover ( 07:09 )
  3. Serein ( 04:46 )
  4. Old Heart Falls ( 04:22 )
  5. Decima ( 04:46 )
  6. Sanction ( 05:07 )
  7. Residual ( 06:54 )
  8. Serac ( 07:25 )
  9. Last Song Before The Fade ( 05:01 )
  10. Shifts ( 04:54 )
  11. The Night Subscriber ( 06:10 )
  12. Pale Flag ( 04:23 )
  13. Passer ( 06:25 )
  14. Sistere ( Bonus Track ) ( 04:11 )
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide