THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

A Journey In Darkness

Long Play Vinyl
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)
Catalog Number:
A Journey In Darkness
A Journey In Darkness


VINYL RELEASE OF THE OPHTHALAMIA DEBUT, IN MEMORY OF TONY SARKKA, WITH ADDITIONAL NOTES FROM METALION & DAN SWANO This Swedish act was formed in 1989 by Tony "IT" Sarkka, mainly known for his dark band Abruptum, and his heavy presence in the Scandinavian black metal scene in the late 80's & early 90's. Ophthalamia was a land of pure fantasy created by IT and the songs are connected to stories based around this fantasyworld. The original vocalist of the band was All (also in Abruptum), but he was then replaced by Shadow (Jon Nödtveidt of classic death/black metal band, Dissection). Shadow handled vocals on this album, the band's debut, which was originally released in 1994. Though the band could be classified as black/doom metal, there is much more to Ophthalamia, with varied metal influences, tempo changes and melodic passages becoming progressively more prominent, helping to distinguish them from their peers. The album was produced by the legendary Dan Swano (Opeth, Katatonia, etc) & Ophthalamia at Unisound in 1993. This vinyl edition of 'A Journey in Darkness' includes original artwork, plus new notes from Metalion & Dan Swano, offering their recollections of IT, who passed away in early 2017.


  1. Name
  2. A Cry From The Halls Of Blood / Empire Of Lost Dreams ( 02:26 )
  3. Enter The Darkest Thoughts Of The Chosen / Agony's Silent Paradise ( 07:12 )
  4. A Journey In Darkness / Entering The Forest ( 06:26 )
  5. Shores Of Kaa-Ta-Nu / The Eternal Walk ( Part 2 ) ( 05:36 )
  6. A Lonely Soul / Hymn To A Dream ( 00:50 )
  7. Little Child Of Light / Degradation Of Holyness ( 09:54 )
  8. Castle Of No Repair / Lies From A Blackened Heart ( 05:06 )
  9. This Is The Pain Called Sorrow / To The Memory Of Me ( 08:23 )
  10. I Summon Thee, Oh Father / Death Embrace Me ( 01:56 )
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock