THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets


Long Play Vinyl
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Gate Fold Vinyl
Catalog Number:


Two 12" Vinyl, 180g discs packaged in a brand new gatefold sleeve with new artwork and inner bags. This fantastic collection of one of the great Liverpool bands of the 80's contains the classic original versions plus the recently discovered lost USA remixes of 'The Revolutionary Spirit' and 'God Forbid' plus a BBC Session (Kid Jensen, John Peel and Janice Long), rare demos and live recordings most of which have never been on vinyl before. Formed in 1980 when singer Paul Simpson left The Teardrop Explodes, the band signed to Bill Drummond and David Balfe's Zoo Records. They released only one record, the single 'Revolutionary Spirit' the labels last ever release. Perfect in a way. 'Revolutionary Spirit' is an epic like a Thomas Wolfe novel, Citizen Kane or something. A song far too grand for a mere 7 inch single. For whatever reason, that incarnation of the Wild Swans did not release any other records. This added to the romantic appeal of the group. For we knew little about them, we knew they had crawled out of the same cultural bunker as the Teardrops and the Bunnymen. The had performed the perfect act of oneupmanship releasing a record of such magnificence and opulent splendour it made all the 'Rewards' and 'Rescues' seem ridiculous. But we knew little else, so this was fine. Few records really capture a moment in time, but this does. A time when music was a voyage of discovery and in a way the ignorance was part of the bliss, that mystery, it fed that desire and fulfilled the notion that you had discovered something special. Music was a lifestyle, a cultural choice, not the deposable commodity it has become today, it really meant something. Where did it all go wrong???


  1. Name
  2. The Revolutionary Spirit (original Single)
  3. God Forbid (Original Single)
  4. Flowers Of England
  5. The Iron Bed
  6. Opium
  7. Now You're Perfect
  8. No Bleeding
  9. Enchanted
  10. Thirst
  11. The Revolutionary Spirit (US Stereo Mix)
  12. God Forbid (US Stereo Mix)
  13. Northern England
  14. Now And Forever
  15. Crowning Glory
  16. Holy Spear
  17. Broken Home (demo)
  18. Infidel (demo)
  19. God Forbid
  20. Miracle Heart
  21. Now You're Perfect
  22. Hour Of Need
  23. Fruits Of The Earth
  24. The Revolutionary Spirit
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide