THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

No Sense Of Sin

Long Play Vinyl
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Gate Fold Vinyl
Catalog Number:
No Sense Of Sin
No Sense Of Sin


Pressed on 180g vinyl in newly designed gatefold sleeve with the original handscripted inner bag the initial pressings include a BONUS WHITE VINYL 7inch with the bands singles 'It Hurts' and 'You Don't Need Someone New' both of which did not feature on the original pressings of 'No Sense Of Sin'. The whole project has been under the careful tutelage of Jem Kelly, who's attic was raided to find the original 1/4 inch master tapes for the remastering. Louis Vincent has also kindly supplied brand new sleeve notes for this edition. Originally released on the bands own Arista subsidiary label Sylvan Records in 1984, the album was preceded by the single 'First Picture Of You'. The most played track on BBC Radio 1 in that long hot summer of 1983, the band who had never played a live gig, had previously done a session for the late Radio DJ John Peel, songs being hastily written in the spirit of the moment for that now legendary session. After the Peel session was broadcast a bidding war ensued which Arista won and an album quickly ensued, with production split primarily between Nigel Gray; Teardrops, Banshees and the Police and Bob Sergeant; Buzzcocks, Wire, and The Undertones and Alan Tarney; A-ha, Dream Academy. So there was a real heritage of New Wave Pop underlining the choice of producers. The resulting album captured the bands sound perfectly, encompassing Jems desire to expand on his previous work with The Wild Swans extending the melodic driven dynamic and Peters lyrics are an honest attempt to capture the intricacies of human relations. People forget these were two young musicians in the early twenties writing and this innocence gives the album its freshness that some saw as a weakness. The polished production being too much for some the band were misunderstood in some quarters and struggled in the UK to build on the success of First Picture. Touring extensively in the UK and in Europe the band have achieved cult status in France and Italy achieving three Top10 hits. The band split up in 1985 but have reformed for selective shows over the years, July 2009 live at the Philharmonic Hall in Liverpool and August 2016 with Martyn Ware BEF at Rewind North Festival being the most recent.


  1. Name
  2. It Hurts
  3. Love Still Flows
  4. Can You Keep a Secret
  5. Out on Your Own
  6. Put Your Touch on Love
  7. Too Young
  8. You Don't Need Someone New
  9. You Fill Me With Need
  10. The First Picture of You
  11. Alone of All Her Sex
  12. When You Look at Boys
  13. Start of the Search
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide