THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Ashore 2LP (RSD 2018)

Long Play Vinyl
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Gate Fold Vinyl
Catalog Number:
Ashore 2LP (RSD 2018)
Ashore 2LP (RSD 2018)


For the very first time on vinyl this 180g WHITE vinyl double LP exclusive for Record Store Day, comes packaged as a 2LP set in a gatefold sleeve with full colour inner bags. June Tabor is without doubt 'one of the greats' of the British folk scene. Her recording career has consistently reached ever greater heights of performance and interpretation. Each of her albums consistently reaches the highest technical standard with her emotionally powerful performances and scintillating musical arrangements. Ashore is a collection of songs concerning humankind's relationship with the sea and on release the album was hailed by critics and fans alike as another career highpoint. "It's 35 years since June Tabor's debut album, but this has to be among her best." - THE TIMES "A thing of compelling beauty, and stands head and shoulders above most folk albums you're likely to hear this year Pure class." - ENGLISH DANCE & SONG "This deeply affecting collection of sea stories demonstrates the core of her art almost to perfection." - MOJO "June Tabor has always resolutely pursued her own heart without recourse to the conformities of genre, expectations of audiences and especially not the pressures of orthodox commercial appeal." - COLIN IRWIN Junes range and depth are unparalleled and with Ashore she fully justified her reputation as Englands foremost song interpreter. This powerful set of contemporary songs alongside classic traditional ballads like 'The Bleacher Lassie Of Kelvinhaugh' and 'The Great Selkie Of Sule Skerry' see June give a spinetingling performance of the Elvis Costello classic 'Shipbuilding' and a new recording of Oysterbands Ian Telfers 'Finisterre'. This featured on Freedom and Rain the album June recorded with Oysterband. June also covers two songs from the pen of Cyril Tawney 'The Grey Funnel Line' and The Oggie Man' both remarkable interpretations. The album features June's regular musicians; Andy Cutting on diatonic accordion, Mark Emerson viola and violin, Tim Harries double bass and Huw Warren on piano.


  1. Name
  2. Finistere
  3. The Bleacher Lassie of Kelvinhaugh
  4. The Grey Funnel Line
  5. Le Vingt - Cinquieme Du Mois D'Octobre
  6. Shipbuilding
  7. Jamaica
  8. The Great Selkie of Sule Skerry
  9. Winter Comes In / Vidlin Voe
  10. The Oggie Man
  11. I'll Go Enlist For A Sailor
  12. The Brean Lament
  13. Le Petit Navire
  14. Across The Wide Ocean
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite