THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Nicht Nicht (LP)

Long Play Vinyl
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)
Catalog Number:


Hamburg-based Love-Songs' newest output Nicht Nicht continues the band?s striving to mesh defined grids with improvisatory snapshots to create their very own take on organic electronica. Since 2012, the electro-acoustic trio were able to explore the possibilities of their free-flowing interplay through the course of several EPs and the mini-album 'Inselbegabung', which was released on Kame House. Now they are ready to submit their debut album Nicht Nicht on Bureau B. Meandering through its seven tracks Nicht Nicht contains the Trios most aerially shimmering tracks to date flanked by tribal bouncers. Form, deform and somewhere in between. Love-Songs have found their way into the setlists of DJs such as Phuong Dan and John Talabot and also live their music works in clubby situations. The album is more permeable, but at the same time concrete than the band?s previous output. With the work on Nicht Nicht, Love-Songs continue to place more emphasis on the studio itself as an instrument. The foundations are still based on a tried and trusted combination of bass, percussion, electronics and vocals, but less readily identifiable as the tracks oscillate between the lines. Ideas continue to be elicited from live improvisations, then processed and arranged on the computer, not infrequently translated back into an intimate interplay of instruments and yet the individual elements display a disciplined awareness of the whole: the bass earths the tracks stoically, ascetically, percussion is in the realm of man and machine, the vocals serve the songs primarily as an instrument without surrendering their expressive imagery. Electronics assume dual roles in terms of structure and ornamentation: rendering form and embellishing with melody and noise. Ultimately, it is the sum of these parts and the production thereof, which allow Nicht Nicht to shimmer and foam, jangle and roll, billow and rattle. ?Jetzt wo ich unbegreiflich bin, macht die Selbstaufl?sung Sinn.? (Selbstaufl?ser Teil 2) TheeLove-Songs line-up has been a constant since their inception: Thomas Korf (electronics, vocals), Sebastian Kokus (bass) and Manuel Chittka (drums, percussion). The band recorded and produced Nicht Nicht in their Elbkrautstudios in Hamburg. Mastering was taken care of by Fabian Tormin/Plaetlin Mastering. As always, the band?s own design studio Total Eclipse Of The Heart came up with the visuals.
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock