THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

The Quite Cormorant (LP)

Long Play Vinyl
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)
Catalog Number:
The Quite Cormorant (LP)
The Quite Cormorant (LP)


Norwegian drummer and composer Per Oddvar Johansen is probably best known for his work with Christian Wallumrød, Trygve Seim, The Source, Solveig Slettahjell and Vigleik Storaas. A five times winner of the Spellemannprisen, Norway's equivalent of a Grammy, Per Oddvar Johansen is recognised by many as a natural successor and flame keeper to the late Jon Christensen and Paul Motian - recognition that places him firmly in the hierarchy of today's drummers.

Per Oddvar wrote much of the music on 'The Quiet Cormorant' in quiet, creative solitude in The Arctic Hideaway on a coastline near Bodø in northern Norway where the Atlantic ocean, the light, the sounds of birds and the sense of space and distance become an artist's palette. In his head were the sounds of his fellow musicians in the trio. Joining him is pianist Helge Lien, who he describes as having a unique way of incorporating a Norwegian sound in his playing, and Torben Snekkestad's phrasing, detail, and unbelievable control over his saxophone. Audiences, too, perceive so much thoughtfulness in Helge's playing, a quiet passion as he leans into every note, while Torben's sound is profoundly songlike, the breath mattering as much as the notes.

Joining the trio on two tracks is the guitarist Hedvig Mollestad, another remarkable presence in Norwegian music in recent years. Hedvig is such a great musician says Per Oddvar, "I like the rock-reminiscence it gives to the record as a whole". Certainly it's far more than a guest appearance from Hedvig. When 'Love, Peace and Currywurst' powers on to the album's landscape, it's like the crash of the oceans wave onto the beach, a hymn to Nature, a party on the sands of time.

Personnel: Per Oddvar Johansen (drums, vibraphone), Helge Lien (piano), Torben Snekkestad (tenor & soprano saxophone, bass clarinet), Hedvig Mollestad (guitar on tracks 3 and 6)


  1. Name
  2. The Quiet Cormorant
  3. Waltz For Hire
  4. Brown House (By The Sea)
  5. The Njalla Suite
  6. Island Movies
  7. Love, Peace And Currywurst
  8. The Still
  9. Sørvær Major Minor
  10. A Ballad In Popular Keys
  11. Sunshine - After Fog
  12. Current Tides
  13. Where Did You Go?
  14. Around And About The Roundabout
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite