THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Still Life

Long Play Vinyl
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Gate Fold Vinyl
Catalog Number:
Still Life
Still Life


Still Life, Carson McHone's third album and second release with Loose Music, quivers like a tightrope, with songs about existing within such tension and surviving beyond the breaking point. These are stories of sabotage, confusion, and surrender. The album is a testament to the effort of reaching, sometimes flailing, for understanding and for balance. Still Life invites us to gasp at our own reflection and acknowledge the unsettling beauty in this breath. The songs of Still Life were written in quiet moments between tours and recorded away from Texas in Ontario with Canadian musician and producer Daniel Romano. McHone says of the session, "Daniel is a perceptive player, and his response was intuitive and organic. We attacked these songs as a blank canvas. Shadows sharpened and came to life as full vignettes that felt familiar in a magical way, a product of keeping things emotionally open. I think we picked up on things that were unwritten." Together in a home studio they cut almost the entire record themselves, calling on two friends, the versatile Mark Lalama on accordion, piano, and organ, and David Nardi with some savvy saxophone, to round it out. The phrasing and tones recall John Cale, The Kinks, Richard and Linda Thompson-like-minded artists of the late '60s and early '70s, another era of transition and innovation.


  1. Name
  2. Sweet Magnolia
  3. Hawks Don't Share
  4. Only Lovers
  5. Still Life
  6. Fingernail Moon
  7. End Of The World
  8. Trim The Rose
  9. Someone Else
  10. Folk Song
  11. Spoil On The Vine
  12. Tried
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite