THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Bottcher: Canticum Novum

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:


During the last two decades, several CDs with works by the composer Eberhard Bottcher have been released on Querstand. This most recent CD "Canticum Novum" opens with the Latin Mass for Choir and Organ. "Missa Reservata" is a term from the 15th century that describes a specific style of vocal polyphony. The six traditional parts of the mass, Kyrie Gloria Credo Sanctus Benedictus Agnus Dei, are contrasted according to their respective content and are rendered with personal expression.

Following this is the soloistic part of the CD, featuring the "Vier Festtagschorale" (Four Festival Chorales) as well as the "Zwei geistliche Gesange" (Two Sacred Songs) based on texts by Reinhild Traitler and Heinrich Heine; all set for soprano, horn, and organ. "Maria und der Engel" (Mary and the Angel) and "Die Heiligen Drei Konige" (The Three Holy Kings) are punctuated by the choral movement "Vom Himmel hoch" (From Heaven Above).

The final part of the CD again set for choir and organ includes two motets: "Pater noster" (Our Father) and "Befiehl dem Herrn deine Wege" (Commit thy way unto the Lord) based on Psalm 37. In between we find two traditional chorale movements: "Ein feste Burg" (A mighty fortress) and "Ach bleib mit deiner Gnade" (Abide, O dearest Jesus) both in new musical settings. Using a consistently new tonal structure, the Berlin-born composer who now lives in Norway gives these historic texts and pieces a new musical expression which unites the works on this recording


  1. Name
  2. Bottcher: Missa Reservata, "Lateinsche Messe": I. Kyrie
  3. Bottcher: Missa Reservata, "Lateinsche Messe": II. Gloria
  4. Bottcher: Missa Reservata, "Lateinsche Messe": III. Credo
  5. Bottcher: Missa Reservata, "Lateinsche Messe": IV. Sanctus
  6. Bottcher: Missa Reservata, "Lateinsche Messe": V. Benedictus
  7. Bottcher: Missa Reservata, "Lateinsche Messe": VI. Agnus Dei
  8. Bottcher: Nun komm der Heiden Heiland
  9. Bottcher: Maria und der Engel
  10. Bottcher: Gelobet seist du, Jesu Christ
  11. Bottcher: Vom Himmel hoch
  12. Bottcher: Christ ist erstanden
  13. Bottcher: Die Heiligen Drei Konige
  14. Bottcher: Komm, Gott Schopfer Heiliger Geist
  15. Bottcher: Pater noster (Vater unser)
  16. Bottcher: Ein feste Burg
  17. Bottcher: Ach bleib mit deiner Gnade
  18. Bottcher: Befiehl dem Herrn deine Wege
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite