THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Funk Express

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Funk Express
Funk Express


Remastered classic R&B funk album with 4 added bonus tracks not previously released!

This is a special remastered album by Chuck Brown and the Soul Searchers originally released in 1980. It precedes the Go-go sound he later created, but you can hear the initial elements of call and response and percussion breakdowns, as well as the signature tight horn and rhythm section of the Soul Searchers. The collection includes 4 tracks recorded at the same time but never before released, including a beautiful rendition of Johnny Guitar Watson's 'I Want To Ta Ta You Baby'.

Chuck Brown is a music innovator who started his career on Clarence Avant's Sussex label before moving to Source. In the mid-eighties he fully developed his Go-go sound with hits like 'We Need Some Money', 'Run Joe' and 'Go Go Swing'. In the 1990s, he recorded a jazz and blues duet album with the now platinum Eva Cassidy and dedicated the 'Timeless' album of jazz and blues standards to her after her passing.

In the 2000s, Chuck Brown had a huge resurgence with five Billboard charting albums over 12 years and a Grammy nomination. He was also awarded a Lifetime Achievement Award from the National Endowment for the Arts, a street was named after him and later (posthumously) Chuck Brown Memorial Park opened in Washington DC.

The 'Funk Express' album is a collectible collection of pure uplifting funk, R&B and body moving grooves, remastered for true music lovers to enjoy after being unavailable for decades. Get on board!


  1. Name
  2. Come On And Boogie (part 1 - Vocal)
  3. Come On And Boogie (part 1 - A Fantasy Of Fusion
  4. In The Pocket
  5. Who Are You
  6. Sticks And Stones
  7. Time Has No Ending
  8. Slow Down (you Keep Telling Me)
  9. Keeping That Same Old Feeling
  10. I Love You, I Do
  11. Get Up Get Down
  12. I Want To Ta Ta You Baby
  13. The Key

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock