THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

Cosmic Sounds

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Cosmic Sounds
Cosmic Sounds


A classic 1967 Elektra edition, conceived by label head Jac Holzman, who claimed that the success of the Doors was a primary inspiration for the project, the Zodiac's Cosmic Sounds is a concept piece based on the twelve signs of the Chaldean astronomical zodiac. It combines the music of electronics pioneer Mort Garson, performed on early moog synthesiser by Paul Beaver, and the words of Jacques Wilson, which would be delivered in Morrison-esque style by the Iranian-born folk musician, Cyrus Faryar, a man dubbed by Holzman "the Persian minstrel of Barham Boulevard". One of the earliest psychedelic / progressive concept albums, Cosmic Sounds is performed by members of the Wrecking Crew, the loosely affiliated assembly of West Coast musicians, who during the 1960s worked extensively with Brian Wilson, Phil Spector, the Monkees, Simon & Garfunkel; Carol Kaye: bass guitar; Hal Blaine: drums; Bud Shank: flute; Mike Melvoin: keyboards, Emil Richards: exotic percussion. On one level, Cosmic Sounds is a psychedelic exploitation novelty album but there's a precocious quality, an understanding of the innate playfulness of psychedelia that places it alongside a handful of such hallucinogenic enterprises of the era as Mass in F Minor, I Love You Alice B. Toklas, and The L.S. Bumble Bee.


  1. Name
  2. ARIES The Fire Fighter
  3. TAURUS The Voluptuary
  4. GEMINI The Cool Eye
  5. CANCER The Moon Child
  6. LEO The Lord Of Lights
  7. VIRGO The Perpetual Perfectionist
  8. LIBRA The Flower Child
  9. SCORPIO The Passionate Hero
  10. SAGITTARIUS The Versatile Daredevil
  11. CAPRICORN The Uncapricious Climber
  12. AQUARIUS The Lover Of Life
  13. PISCES The Peace Piper
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock