THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

Earth Felt the Wound

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Earth Felt the Wound
Earth Felt the Wound


Hard on the heels of her "epic and groundbreaking" 'Granite' album, Kate Westbrook and the Granite Band - including husband and British jazz legend Mike - are back with a vengeance. Recorded at singer Joss Stone's studio in the depths of the Devon countryside, 'Earth Felt the Wound' deploys state-of-the-Art recording to stunning effect and draws from Kate perhaps her greatest vocal performance to date.

The songs of 'Earth Felt the Wound' range from hard-hitting truths about the perilous state of the natural world - "Threat of Natural Disaster", "Storm Petrel" - to the tenderness of the ballad "Once Upon a Time". The album opens with one of the Westbrooks' most lyrical songs, "The Streams of Lovely Lucienne" and concludes with the joyfully comical "Rooster Rabelais". Kate's original texts deal with contemporary issues of climate change and the destruction of the planet, with poetry, wit and irony.

Musically Mike and Kate Westbrook still don't acknowledge boundaries. They ensure that there are excursions into outright rock, chanson, jazz and even opera, all brought together with that unmistakable Westbrook sound. With the Granite Band they have assembled a company of brilliant young musicians. 'Earth Felt the Wound' takes their creative collaboration with producer Jay Auborn to new heights.


  1. Name
  2. The Streams of Lovely Lucienne
  3. Threat of Natural Disaster
  4. Big Baby Hips
  5. Menace de Catastrophe Naturelle
  6. Drowned in the Flood
  7. Weltende Begins
  8. Weltende
  9. Bathing Belles and Fiscal Analysts
  10. Let's Face the Music and Dance
  11. Storm Petrel
  12. Once Upon a Time
  13. Rooster Rabelais

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock