THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

The Immeasurable Code

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
The Immeasurable Code
The Immeasurable Code


Phil Robson's IMS (Instant Message Service) Quintet, featuring NY saxophonist Mark Turner, captured live during their successful inaugural January 2011 UK tour.

All bar two of the tracks have been solely composed by the Award-winning guitarist Robson, based around the concept of communication methods, ancient to modern, with titles referencing this such as Telegram, Telepathy & Transmission, Fire & The Drum, The Instant Message and The Net. The album also features a joint composition by Robson and Janisch, and Phil s arrangement of that delightful form of communication "Happy Talk" by Rodgers and Hammerstein.

Phil first met Turner in 1998 when both appeared together on Christine Tobin's 'Deepsong' album and have since played together on several other occasions. Mark has garnered enormous respect over the years and is considered internationally as an outstanding musician. The band gelled instantly and within a few concerts sounded as though it had been together for years, with each player having enough space in the compositions to bring their unique qualities to the overall sound (a consistent feature of Robson's approach over the years with his other bands including Partisans and 6 Strings & the Beat).

The compositions reflect the breadth of Robson's experience and influences, made cohesive by the depth of feeling of the pieces and playing, with a love of groove at the centre. The album also contains some rarely captured amazing examples of Mark Turner playing the soprano sax as well as, of course, his formidable searing tenor playing.

Personnel: Phil Robson (guitars), Mark Turner (soprano and tenor saxophone), Gareth Lockrane (flutes), Michael Janisch (double bass), Ernesto Simpson (drums)


  1. Name
  2. Intro
  3. Nassarius Beads
  4. Telepathy & Transmission
  5. Telegram
  6. The Instand Message
  7. Immeasurable Code
  8. The Net
  9. A Serenade
  10. Fire and the Drum
  11. Happy Talk
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock