THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

Views from the Inside

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Views from the Inside
Views from the Inside


'Views from the Inside' is a stunning album from the multi-faceted trombonist, composer and conductor JC Sanford and his 15-piece orchestra.

Sanford is a multiple award-winning composer and two times Grammy-nominated artist as a member of the John Hollenbeck ensemble. His wide-ranging compositional palette is deeply rooted in the traditions of the jazz and classical worlds yet pushes both boundaries to create a landmark recording of the new jazz orchestra renaissance, featuring bold sonorities, unexpected colours and arresting sonic textures.

The Orchestra features many of New York's creative musicians brought together to form a completely unique ensemble featuring non-traditional instrumentation. Neither a big band nor conventional chamber group, the orchestra is a hybrid ensemble that has resulted from Sanford's extensive experience over the years composing for a variety of instruments in a multitude of contexts, media and genres.

Throughout the album programmed electronics fuse seamlessly with shimmering brass lines; epic moments of free improvisation evolve into to rapturous full-orchestra refrains; dense, cluster-harmonies give way to spacious violin and trombone improvisations; quirky odd meters shift into deep swing or flowing conducted rhapsodies. The result is an exciting musical adventure that both invigorates and challenges the listener.

Personnel: JC Sanford (composer, conductor, trombone), Satoshi Takeishi (percussion), Jacob Garchik (accordion), Tom Beckham (vibraphone), Meg Okura (violin, electronics), Will Martina (cello, electronics), Aidan O'Donnell (double bass), Dan Willis (oboe, piccolo, flute, soprano sax), Ben Kono (English horn, clarinets, flute, alto saxophone), Chris Bacas (clarinet, saxophones), Kenny Berger (clarinet, bassoon, alto flute), Taylor Haskins (trumpet, flugelhorn, harmonizer), Matt Holman (trumpet, flugelhorn), Mark Patterson (tenor trombone), Jeff Nelson (tuba, bass trombone), Chris Komer (French horn)


  1. Name
  2. An Attempt at Serenity
  3. Your Word Alone
  4. 2nd & 7th (Brooklyn Vignette #5)
  5. Brownieland (Brooklyn Vignette #1)
  6. Pre-Systems
  7. Robins in Snow
  8. Views from the Inside
  9. Inter-Systems
  10. Sunset Park, Sunset Park (Brooklyn Vignette #2)
  11. Sky. Good.
  12. Systems Two (Brooklyn Vignette #6)
  13. Verrazano Bikeride (Brooklyn Vignette #3)
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock