THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

We Drift Meridian

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)
Catalog Number:
We Drift Meridian
We Drift Meridian


You wouldn't even know they were there... but the minute islands and atolls amidst the vastness of our world's oceans provide intriguing inspiration for Monocled Man's second album, 'We Drift Meridian' - a concept devised by trumpeter, multi-instrumentalist and composer Rory Simmons. Packaged in a simple cardboard sleeve it is limited to 750 copies.

With established colleagues Chris Montague (electric guitar) and Jon Scott (drums/electronics), plus vocal contributions from Emilia Mårtensson and Ed Begley, Simmons layers-up haunting electronic and acoustic soundscapes which reflect the remoteness and sometimes curious histories and characters associated with these far-flung, isolated spaces.

Monocled Man's ethos of through-composition and open improvisation is carried over from their debut release on Whirlwind, 'Southern Drawl' - but here, a distinctive new dimension is introduced, emanating from Simmons' predetermined, home-studio-produced sonic environments. Cinematic beds of sound, carefully crafted with modular synths, sequencers and chopped audio, are all fashioned into an expansive framework which provides a springboard for individual artistry. Chris Montague's characteristically oblique guitar style and Jon Scott's hard-hitting, sparky drumming - both of which are unwaveringly inventive - join with Simmons' plaintive trumpet in generating these appropriately drifting, searching panoramas. But, far away from ambient lifelessness, this is a creative band whose energy also frequently crackles with filmic urgency as pulsating, electronic textures erupt into industrial, post-prog fervor.

Personnel: Rory Simmons (trumpet, flugelhorn, keyboards, guitar, electronics), Chris Montague (guitar), Jon Scott (drums, electronics), Also featuring: Emilia Mårtensson, Ed Begley (vocals - tracks 4 and 6)


  1. Name
  2. Tromelin
  3. We Drift Meridian
  4. Marie-Betsy
  5. Deception Island (feat Ed Begley)
  6. Mount Cerberus
  7. Fiction Afloat
  8. Queen Tirza
  9. Scott Moorman Adrift
  10. Erebus
  11. Mount Terror
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock