THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Oh Gee!

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Oh Gee!
Oh Gee!


Saxophonists Dave O'Higgins and Alan Barnes musical association goes back to the 1980s when they were both members of the Pizza Express Modern Jazz Sextet.

For this recording they put together a superb band. Saxophonists Sam Mayne and Karen Sharp are mainstays of the UK jazz scene and no nepotism came into play in the choice of Judith O"Higgins - she is a fine section player and accomplished soloist. The rhythm section is one guaranteed to swing - an important factor in both Dave and Alan's musical philosophy.

They covered a wide range of material, from a reduction of Duke Ellington's "Ko-Ko", through Benny Carter's original arrangement of "Doozy", to Alan's original "Orejas De Cerdos" and Dave's brilliant editing and harmonization of a Dexter Gordon solo on "The Chase".

The album recorded in the old-fashioned way: a run through then straight to record. What you hear is what happened. You can instantly here all the individual sounds of the players - no need to indicate whose playing what - each player is easily recognisable, at ease in their own skin, and has their own way of doing things.

Personnel: Alan Barnes (alto and soprano saxophone, clarinet), Dave O'Higgins (tenor saxophone), Sam Mayne (alto saxophone), Judith O'Higgins (tenor saxophone), Karen Sharp (baritone saxophone), Robin Aspland (piano), Adam King (bass), Sebastiaan de Krom (drums)


  1. Name
  2. Doozy
  3. The End of a Love Affair
  4. Just a Mood
  5. The Chase
  6. Orejas de Cerdos
  7. Topsy
  8. Chelsea Bridge
  9. Our Delight
  10. Koko
  11. Oh Gee!
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock