THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Fish Tales

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Fish Tales
Fish Tales


'Fish Tales' is a jazz suite written by multi award-winning reeds master Alan Barnes and talented guitarist/composer Pat McCarthy, with poetry written and performed by Josie Moon. The octet features trumpeter Martin Shaw, trombonist Mark Nightingale and saxophonist Gilad Atzmon.

Grimsby Jazz commissioned Alan Barnes to create a suite of original jazz pieces based on the history of the Grimsby Fishing Industry. Alan asked Pat to contribute themes, which he arranged using his customary skill and good taste. The project features the poet, Josie Anne Grey on half of the tracks and paintings featured in the booklet by Dale Mackie.

Personnel: Alan Barnes (alto and baritone saxophones, clarinet and flute), Gilad Atzmon (soprano and alto saxophones, bass clarinet), Dean Masser (tenor saxophone and clarinet), Mark Nightingale (trombone), Martin Shaw (trumpet, flugelhorn), Pat McCarthy (guitar), Dave Green (double bass)


  1. Name
  2. All Aboard
  3. A Drowning Man
  4. Fisherman's Blues
  5. Sea Jewels
  6. Sea Jewels
  7. Three Day Millionaires
  8. Three Day Millionaires
  9. Witches in Eggshells
  10. Witches in Eggshells
  11. The Fisherman and the Seal Woman
  12. Fisherman's Waltz
  13. Longing for Home
  14. Long Long Way from Home
  15. Engine Room
  16. Engine Room
  17. Face of Beauty, Face of Rage
  18. Face of Beauty
  19. Minesweeping
  20. Deadly Catch
  21. Barfrost
  22. Ice Tune
  23. Homecoming
  24. Homecoming
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock