THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

New Release

Ai Ga Nakucha Ne

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Ai Ga Nakucha Ne
Ai Ga Nakucha Ne


Akiko Yano's classic 1982 album, recorded in London with the group Japan and co-produced by Ryuichi Sakamoto. New introduction by Mac Demarco, interview with Akiko Yano and Steve Jansen.

Ai Ga Nakucha Ne' ('there must be love' in Japanese) is Akiko Yano's 6th album following 1981's 'Tadaima', and continues its predecessors exploration of electro-pop. For this album, Akiko enrolled musicians Mick Karn, Steve Jansen and David Sylvian from the band Japan, booked Air Studios in London and engaged engineer Steve Nye. The result is a fascinating soundscape full of catchy pop tunes, sung in both Japanese and English. The eleven tracks featured on "Ai Ga Nakucha Ne," mostly composed by Akiko, feature her distinctive vocals with the UK band Japan providing all music.

There are many highlights on the album, from the pop edge of "Aisuru Hito Yo" to the avant groove of "Another Wedding Song". The album closes out with the superb "Good Night" sung by both Akiko and David Sylvian.

The original 1982 LP release included a 24-page booklet featuring many photos by Pennie Smith and Japanese photographer Bishin Jumonji. The booklet is reproduced in its entirety here. There are also contributions by Mac DeMarco, a long-time fan of the album, Akiko herself and Steve Jansen making this release of 'Ai Ga Nakucha Ne' a unique testament to Akiko Yano's greatness.


  1. Name
  2. Ai Ga Nakucha Ne 
  3. Kanashikute Yarikirenai
  4. What's Got In Your Eyes
  5. Oishii Seikatsu
  6. Michi De Battari
  7. Onnatachiyo Otokotachiyo
  8. Aisuru Hito Yo
  9. Sleep On My Baby
  10. Another Wedding Song
  11. Donnatokimo Donnatokimo Donnatokimo
  12. Good Night
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock