THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

The Beautiful To Us

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
The Beautiful To Us
The Beautiful To Us


New album from the wonderful (former Hold Steady man) Franz Nicolay which features Against Me!'s Andrew Seward on Bass and Leftover Crack's Ara Babajian on drums and recorded by J. Robbins. Franz Nicolay returns with 'To Us, The Beautiful' - the anthemic follow-up to 2012's 'Do the Struggle' - released by Xtra Mile Recordings on January 19th. Renowned for his unique delivery and absorption of widely-diverse styles, Franz has shared stages and song writing time with The Hold Steady, New York gypsy-punks Guignol, and Against Me!, as well as playing on records by Frank Turner, The Living End, The Dresden Dolls and The Loved One. Taking its title from a rather lucid Ukrainian toast "To us the beautiful, and to those who disagree, may their eyes fall out" - the album has far more of the joyous celebration than the dark acid tongue to it. Realised in a mere 6 days of rehearsals and recording, with Andrew Seward of Against Me! on bass and J. Robbins of the legendary Jawbox and Burning Airlines producing, 'To Us, The Beautiful!' is bulging with hooks and elegant melodies. Influences and inspirations for the record, a list that includes: the Waterboys, Leo Strauss, Ivor Cutler, future of the left, a Scottish girl, a pet rat in Southampton, John Cooper Clarke, the Egyptian Book of the Dead and "other things (that) are in there too," says Franz himself.


  1. Name
  2. To Us, The Beautiful!
  3. Marfa Lights
  4. Talk To Him In Shallow Water
  5. Bright White
  6. Imperfect Rhyme
  7. Everything Is Going According To Plan
  8. Open With The Wrestlers
  9. The Pilot Inside
  10. Bring Me A Mirror
  11. Jerusalem Against Athens
  12. Your Body, And The Bordeline
  13. Porta Fenestella
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock