THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Hope Is Made Of Steel

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Hope Is Made Of Steel
Hope Is Made Of Steel


Hope is made of steel is the third full-length album from Northcote, the moniker of Canadian songwriter Matt Goud - his most pronounced and striking album to date. Following a year bulging with gigs - with over 160 performances in 2014/2015 - as well as a tour history that includes playing alongside The Gaslight Anthem on their North American tour, the ever-present Chuck Ragan in Europe, Dave Hause and Twin Forks, the album is enriched with live experience. Coursing with electric guitars, there is a definite rock beast pumping inside the 10 track record. As Matt says "with this record it is a priority for me to bring a more dynamic show on the road". Recorded while moving between cities, 3000 miles apart, the album is surging with the energy of movement and the storytelling attached to travel. 'Small Town Dreams' is the best example, as it combines the stirring mood of an enveloping wall of sound with all the hopes and dreams of the two characters in the song who wish someday to make it to the big city. 'Leaving Wyoming' deals with moving on too, taking more of a traditional Northcote approach - the warm, nostalgic feel, the gentile electric chimes, the soaring reverbed vocals - while 'Bitter End' captures that Springsteen-like swagger the young Canadian has picked up from tours, and united it with his own way around an adrenal rush of a chorus.


  1. Name
  2. This Is Our Time
  3. Bitter End
  4. Small Town Dreams
  5. Hope Is Made of Steel
  6. Leaving Wyoming
  7. You Could Never Let Me Down
  8. Bracelet
  9. Stronger Than You Know
  10. Just Kids
  11. Your Rock and Roll
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock