THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

Son Of The Smith

Long Play Vinyl
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)
Catalog Number:
Son Of The Smith
Son Of The Smith


Over 13 tracks, 'Son of the Smith' - the debut album from rising folk-punk star Sean McGowan - is disarming in its scope, surprising in its erudite tackling of life's challenges, and strong of voice with just a dab of laddish humour the aural personification of Seán himself. McGowan could end up soundtracking our social conscience well into next year.

The first single taken from the album is 'Off the Rails', which sears along with an e-bow guitar drone thrumming underneath while Seán gives the lyrical equivalent of an arm around the shoulder and kiss on the cheek of his mates for being there for him.

As a glimpse into 'Son of the Smith', it captures his band absolutely ploughing through the parts he wrote for them. In that spirit, 'Son of the Smith' captures everything live. Recording at SS2 Studios in Southend with labelmate Sam Duckworth (AKA Get Cape. Wear Cape. Fly.) and Jay Malhotra, drums were done without a click-track, each instrument colliding with the rhythm. "It feels urgent, like it could tip over the edge at any point," Seán says.

For fans of: Frank Turner, Billy Bragg, Jamie T, Skinny Lister


  1. Name
  2. Mind the Doors
  3. Cuppa Tea
  4. Romance Ain't Dead
  5. Skin & Bone (& Blood & Moaning)
  6. Porky Pies
  7. Oh My Days
  8. Mind your Head
  9. Springhill
  10. Local Boy
  11. Autopilot
  12. Life has a Way
  13. Off the Rails
  14. Mind the Gap
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock