THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Cave World (MC)

No of Discs:
Release Date:
Cassette Case
Catalog Number:


Stockholm post-punk band V**gra Boys (**= "ia" because spam FILTERS) are announcing a new album Cave World due out July 8th via YEAR0001. Produced by past collaborators Pelle Gunnerfeldt (The Hives, The Knife, etc.) and DJ Haydn, the album is inspired by current events, and aims to tear through the insanity and confusion the world currently finds itself in. Like sin-eaters if sins had to be ingested from a very small spoon, V**gra Boys have consumed the utterly incomprehensible chaos of our era and distilled it into the 12 immaculate tracks that make up Cave World.
As 2021's Welfare Jazz was earning rave reviews from the likes of Pitchfork, NPR, GQ, NME, Stereogum, Fader, and more, Viagra Boys were in the midst of rerecording what would become their followup. After putting together an entire album at the legendary Silence Studio in the town of Koppom, the band decided they could push harder. "We let it marinate for a while and then rerecorded absolutely everything," Murphy explains. Some of the music made it through to what would become Cave World, but replacing the lyrics. In that iterative process, Murphy found himself returning time and again to a misconception with deeper roots: the idea that humanity is moving forward. After watching a video late one evening about a theory that suggests evolution involved trading in some cognitive abilities for others, Murphy began stewing on the fact that the result was mass shootings and science denial. "I just wrote down, 'Who is the true ape?'" he says. "People look down at apes as primitive life forms, but we're just this horrible, lazy society killing each other and starting wars, while they're able to love and feel. Does that make them the true ape or us?"


  1. Name
  2. Baby Criminal
  3. Cave Hole
  4. Troglodyte
  5. Punk Rock Loser
  6. Creepy Crawlers
  7. The Cognitive Trade-Off Hypothesis
  8. Globe earth
  9. Ain't No Thief
  10. Big Boy
  11. ADD
  12. Human Error
  13. Return To Monke
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite