THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Lush Life

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Lush Life
Lush Life


US vocalist/keyboardist Charlie Wood gives accomplished solo performances of classics from the Great American Songbook repertoire, accompanied just by himself on piano. He is joined by wife Jacqui Dankworth, who also produced the album, on one track, "Alone Together".

Taking its title from the classic Billy Strayhorn track, 'Lush Life' showcases Wood's earthy, roots-based approach to jazz standards, developed and refined over many years playing a nightly residency at King's Palace on Beale Street.

The eleven songs have been on Charlie's fingers since he played and sang them every night for several years while holding down a residency on historic Beale Street in Memphis. Charlie grew up listening to these tunes with love and admiration. They introduced him to the craft of songwriting and the art of interpretation, of putting one's stamp on a song without obscuring the charm or essence of the tune that made it attractive in the first place.

Britain's Georgie Fame sat in with Charlie years ago at Kings Palace on Beale Street and he was delighted to be asked to contribute the liner notes. "From Billy Strayhorn's "Lush Life" through Pofessor Longhair's "Tipitina" we are escorted on a musical expedition with Charlie Wood at the controls: playing with the 'time' and melodies and displaying that remarkable independence that I witnessed on Beale St. long ago."

Personnel: Charlie Wood (vocals, piano), Jacqui Dankworth (vocals - track 5)


  1. Name
  2. Route 66
  3. All The Things You Are
  4. Lush Life
  5. On The Street Where You Live
  6. Alone Together (with Jacqui Dankworth)
  7. Sweet Lorraine
  8. Like Someone In Love
  9. You Must Believe In Spring
  10. On The Sunny Side Of The Street
  11. Tipitina
  12. My Ideal
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite