THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Guts, Lungs & Bones

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Guts, Lungs & Bones
Guts, Lungs & Bones


Groanbox sounds dirtied up on new album' GUTS, LUNGS & BONES', with instruments plugged in and percussive clangs coming from deeper within the junkyard. Groanbox recorded all of the material for their latest release, 'Guts, Lungs & Bones', in a cottage perched at the bottom of a green, sheep ridden hill in the middle of the Scottish Borders over a period of six days in August 2011. Recorded live with their manager Oscar Cainer at the helm, the album features ten original compositions and one traditional number,'Death Dont Have No Merc'y. The influence of old New Orleans studio and street is as hot as a cup of coffee from Cafe du Monde in tunes like 'Po' Boy', 'Erol the Turk', and 'Outside the Candlelight Lounge'. They step out of their delta comfort zone in tracks like the 'Cubanesque Cimarrón' and stop off for a sheesha with the Moroccan flavored 'Tamazight'. The echoes of Highway 61 are still there too, from the Boubacar Traoré infused 'Death Dont Have No Mercy' to the Cooder-esque 'Bunco Artis't. More than ever this recording proves that there is only one box that is fearless to go where their heart's ears lead them: Groanbox


  1. Name
  2. Po' Boy
  3. Bunco Artist
  4. Tamazight
  5. Candlelight Lounge
  6. Death Don't Have No Mercy
  7. Running Down the Tiger
  8. Cimarrón
  9. Dalmation Blessed
  10. Erol the Turk
  11. Hell Roaring Creek
  12. Misty Eyed Mama
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock